2016-17 Regular Season Schedule

By on June 21, 2016

 

 

May 8, 2016; Tampa, FL, USA; Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman (77) skates with the puck against the New York Islanders during the third period in game five of the second round of the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs at Amalie Arena. Tampa Bay Lightning defeated the New York Islanders 4-0. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Victor Hedman (77) (photo Kim Klement / USA TODAY Sports)

TAMPA, FLA. — – The Tampa Bay Lightning announced their 82-game regular season schedule for the 2016-17 season today. The Lightning’s season will open on October 13 as the Bolts take on their Atlantic Division rivals, the Detroit Red Wings, at Amalie Arena. Tampa Bay will open with a four-game home stand, followed by a six-game road trip.

 

Tampa Bay will play each of its Atlantic Division opponents four times, two at home and two on the road, with the exception of the Boston Bruins (two home, three away) and the Red Wings (three home, two away). It will have rematches of the 2016 Eastern Conference Final against the Stanley Cup Champion Pittsburgh Penguins on December 10 at Amalie Arena, as well as January 8 and March 3 at CONSOL Energy Center.

 

The Lightning will again play each of their Metropolitan Division opponents within the Eastern Conference three times.   Tampa Bay will host the Washington Capitals, New Jersey Devils, Carolina Hurricanes and Columbus Blue Jacks twice, while visiting the Penguins, New York Rangers, New York Islanders and Philadelphia Flyers on two occasions.  The Lightning will once again play two games, one at home and one on the road, against each Western Conference team.

 

Fans can catch all the action during the 2016-17 campaign by becoming a Lightning Season Ticket Member. Hockey fans looking to purchase new season tickets are encouraged to visit www.tampabaylightning.com or call the Lightning sales team at 813.301.6600.

 

Single game tickets will be put on sale at a later date.

 

At Amalie Arena

The Lightning will play nine home games during the month of March, more than any other month.  With the exception of April (just six games total), Tampa Bay will play their least number of home games in October, with just four of nine contests being held at Amalie Arena. The Bolts will host their longest home stand of the season with five games from December 28 through January 5. They will also play four strings of four home contests in a row.

 

On the Road

The Lightning will host a pair of six-game road trips, the longest of the year, from October 22 through November 1, as well as January 16 through January 26.  They will also have one five-game stretch away from Amalie Arena from November 14 to November 21.  The Lightning will play six of their first 10 games away from Amalie Arena.  They will finish the season with three of their final four games on the road.

 

Back-to-Back

The Lightning will play 16 sets of back-to-back games in 2016-17, including three in which both games will be hosted at Amalie Arena. The Bolts will play a total of 11 times with both back-to-back games being played on the road and twice with the contests split with the first at home and the second on the road.  They will play three consecutive sets of back-to-back games from January 7 through January 17.

 

 

 

Monthly Breakdown

Month              Home   Away    Total

October            4          5          9

November         6          9          15

December         8          6          14

January             5          8          13

February           6          4          10

March               9          6          15

April                 3          3          6

 

 

 

Breakdown by Day

Day                  Home   Away    Total

Sunday             2          5          7

Monday            3          5          8

Tuesday            7          8          15

Wednesday       3          1          4

Thursday           14         7          21

Friday               2          6          8

Saturday           10         9          19

 

 

All-Star Break

The 2017 NHL All-Star Game will be held at Staples Center in Los Angeles.  The skills competition will be help on January 28 with the All-Star Game occurring on January 29.  It is the third time the annual event will be held in Los Angeles, with the first time being in 1981.

 

 

Fast Facts

  • The Lightning will play more home games on Thursdays than any other day.
  • Tampa Bay will play at home just twice on Friday nights and also on Sundays.
  • Of the Bolts’ 41 road games, 17 (41.5 percent) will be played during road trips of five games or more.
  • During the first two months of the 2016-17 season, the Lightning will play 14 of 24 games on the road.
  • Tampa Bay will play 18 of their final 31 games at Amalie Arena.
  • The Lightning doesn’t play a Sunday home game until April 2.
  • The Bolts will play five matinee games with 1 p.m. starts, with all of them being played on the road.

 

 

2016-17 TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING SCHEDULE

 

                       

Day Date Time Opponent   Day Date Time Opponent
Thu. Oct 13 7:30 pm Detroit Sun. Jan 8 1:00 pm @ Pittsburgh
Sat. Oct 15 7:00 pm New Jersey Thu. Jan 12 7:30 pm Buffalo
Tue. Oct 18 7:30 pm Florida Fri. Jan 13 7:30 pm Columbus
Thu. Oct 20 7:30 pm Colorado Mon. Jan 16 4:00 pm @ Los Angeles
Sat. Oct 22 7:00 pm @ Ottawa Tue. Jan 17 10:00 pm @ Anaheim
Tue. Oct 25 7:30 pm @ Toronto Thu. Jan 19 10:30 pm @ San Jose
Thu. Oct 27 7:30 pm @ Montreal Sat. Jan 21 8:00 pm @ Arizona
Sat. Oct 29 7:00 pm @ New Jersey Tue. Jan 24 8:30 pm @ Chicago
Sun. Oct 30 7:00 pm @ N.Y. Rangers Thu. Jan 26 7:30 pm @ Florida
Tue. Nov 1 7:00 pm @ N.Y. Islanders Tue. Jan 31 7:30 pm Boston
Thu. Nov 3 7:30 pm Boston Thu. Feb 2 7:30 pm Ottawa
Sat. Nov 5 7:00 pm New Jersey Sat. Feb 4 7:00 pm Anaheim
Mon. Nov 7 7:30 pm @ Florida Tue. Feb 7 7:30 pm Los Angeles
Thu. Nov 10 7:30 pm N.Y. Islanders Fri. Feb 10 8:00 pm @ Minnesota
Sat. Nov 12 7:00 pm San Jose Sat. Feb 11 7:00 pm @ Winnipeg
Mon. Nov 14 7:00 pm @ N.Y. Islanders Sat. Feb 18 8:00 pm @ Dallas
Tue. Nov 15 7:30 pm @ Detroit Sun. Feb 19 8:00 pm @ Colorado
Thu. Nov 17 7:00 pm @ Buffalo Tue. Feb 21 7:30 pm Edmonton
Sat. Nov 19 1:00 pm @ Philadelphia Thu. Feb 23 7:30 pm Calgary
Mon. Nov 21 8:00 pm @ Nashville Mon. Feb 27 7:30 pm Ottawa
Wed. Nov 23 7:30 pm Philadelphia Wed. Mar 1 7:00 pm Carolina
Fri. Nov 25 7:30 pm Columbus Fri. Mar 3 7:00 pm @ Pittsburgh
Sun. Nov 27 1:00 pm @ Boston Sat. Mar 4 7:00 pm @ Buffalo
Tue. Nov 29 7:00 pm @ Columbus Mon. Mar 6 7:30 pm N.Y. Rangers
Thu. Dec 1 8:00 pm @ St. Louis Thu. Mar 9 7:30 pm Minnesota
Sat. Dec 3 7:00 pm Washington Sat. Mar 11 7:00 pm Florida
Sun. Dec 4 5:00 pm @ Carolina Mon. Mar 13 7:00 pm @ N.Y. Rangers
Thu. Dec 8 7:30 pm Vancouver Tue. Mar 14 7:30 pm @ Ottawa
Sat. Dec 10 7:00 pm Pittsburgh Thu. Mar 16 7:30 pm Toronto
Wed. Dec 14 9:30 pm @ Calgary Sat. Mar 18 7:00 pm Washington
Fri. Dec 16 10:00 pm @ Vancouver Tue. Mar 21 7:30 pm Arizona
Sat. Dec 17 10:00 pm @ Edmonton Thu. Mar 23 7:00 pm @ Boston
Tue. Dec 20 7:30 pm Detroit Fri. Mar 24 7:30 pm @ Detroit
Thu. Dec 22 7:30 pm St. Louis Mon. Mar 27 7:30 pm Chicago
Fri. Dec 23 7:00 pm @ Washington Thu. Mar 30 7:30 pm Detroit
Wed. Dec 28 7:30 pm Montreal Sat. Apr 1 7:00 pm Montreal
Thu. Dec 29 7:30 pm Toronto Sun. Apr 2 6:00 pm Dallas
Sat. Dec 31 7:00 pm Carolina Tue. Apr 4 7:00 pm @ Boston
Tue. Jan 3 7:30 pm Winnipeg Thu. Apr 6 7:30 pm @ Toronto
Thu. Jan 5 7:30 pm Nashville Fri. Apr 7 7:30 pm @ Montreal
Sat. Jan 7 1:00 pm @ Philadelphia Sun. Apr 9 5:00 pm Buffalo

 

 

            *All Times Eastern

 

 

 

2016-17 TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING HOME AND ROAD BREAKDOWN

 

 

HOME AWAY
Day Date Time Opponent Day Date Time Opponent
Thu. Oct 13 7:30 pm Detroit Sat. Oct 22 7:00 pm @ Ottawa
Sat. Oct 15 7:00 pm New Jersey Tue. Oct 25 7:30 pm @ Toronto
Tue. Oct 18 7:30 pm Florida Thu. Oct 27 7:30 pm @ Montreal
Thu. Oct 20 7:30 pm Colorado Sat. Oct 29 7:00 pm @ New Jersey
Thu. Nov 3 7:30 pm Boston Sun. Oct 30 7:00 pm @ N.Y. Rangers
Sat. Nov 5 7:00 pm New Jersey Tue. Nov 1 7:00 pm @ N.Y. Islanders
Thu. Nov 10 7:30 pm N.Y. Islanders Mon. Nov 7 7:30 pm @ Florida
Sat. Nov 12 7:00 pm San Jose Mon. Nov 14 7:00 pm @ N.Y. Islanders
Wed. Nov 23 7:30 pm Philadelphia Tue. Nov 15 7:30 pm @ Detroit
Fri. Nov 25 7:30 pm Columbus Thu. Nov 17 7:00 pm @ Buffalo
Sat. Dec 3 7:00 pm Washington Sat. Nov 19 1:00 pm @ Philadelphia
Thu. Dec 8 7:30 pm Vancouver Mon. Nov 21 8:00 pm @ Nashville
Sat. Dec 10 7:00 pm Pittsburgh Sun. Nov 27 1:00 pm @ Boston
Tue. Dec 20 7:30 pm Detroit Tue. Nov 29 7:00 pm @ Columbus
Thu. Dec 22 7:30 pm St. Louis Thu. Dec 1 8:00 pm @ St. Louis
Wed. Dec 28 7:30 pm Montreal Sun. Dec 4 5:00 pm @ Carolina
Thu. Dec 29 7:30 pm Toronto Wed. Dec 14 9:30 pm @ Calgary
Sat. Dec 31 7:00 pm Carolina Fri. Dec 16 10:00 pm @ Vancouver
Tue. Jan 3 7:30 pm Winnipeg Sat. Dec 17 10:00 pm @ Edmonton
Thu. Jan 5 7:30 pm Nashville Fri. Dec 23 7:00 pm @ Washington
Thu. Jan 12 7:30 pm Buffalo Sat. Jan 7 1:00 pm @ Philadelphia
Fri. Jan 13 7:30 pm Columbus Sun. Jan 8 1:00 pm @ Pittsburgh
Tue. Jan 31 7:30 pm Boston Mon. Jan 16 4:00 pm @ Los Angeles
Thu. Feb 2 7:30 pm Ottawa Tue. Jan 17 10:00 pm @ Anaheim
Sat. Feb 4 7:00 pm Anaheim Thu. Jan 19 10:30 pm @ San Jose
Tue. Feb 7 7:30 pm Los Angeles Sat. Jan 21 8:00 pm @ Arizona
Tue. Feb 21 7:30 pm Edmonton Tue. Jan 24 8:30 pm @ Chicago
Thu. Feb 23 7:30 pm Calgary Thu. Jan 26 7:30 pm @ Florida
Mon. Feb 27 7:30 pm Ottawa Fri. Feb 10 8:00 pm @ Minnesota
Wed. Mar 1 7:00 pm Carolina Sat. Feb 11 7:00 pm @ Winnipeg
Mon. Mar 6 7:30 pm N.Y. Rangers Sat. Feb 18 8:00 pm @ Dallas
Thu. Mar 9 7:30 pm Minnesota Sun. Feb 19 8:00 pm @ Colorado
Sat. Mar 11 7:00 pm Florida Fri. Mar 3 7:00 pm @ Pittsburgh
Thu. Mar 16 7:30 pm Toronto Sat. Mar 4 7:00 pm @ Buffalo
Sat. Mar 18 7:00 pm Washington Mon. Mar 13 7:00 pm @ N.Y. Rangers
Tue. Mar 21 7:30 pm Arizona Tue. Mar 14 7:30 pm @ Ottawa
Mon. Mar 27 7:30 pm Chicago Thu. Mar 23 7:00 pm @ Boston
Thu. Mar 30 7:30 pm Detroit Fri. Mar 24 7:30 pm @ Detroit
Sat. Apr 1 7:00 pm Montreal Tue. Apr 4 7:00 pm @ Boston
Sun. Apr 2 6:00 pm Dallas Thu. Apr 6 7:30 pm @ Toronto
Sun. Apr 9 5:00 pm Buffalo Fri. Apr 7 7:30 pm @ Montreal

 

 

              *All Times Eastern

 

~BE THE THUNDER~

Categories: Hockey, Sports
Tags: ,

0 Comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment